Dodson Blisters Dixie Track Record
By Larry Loynes

Birch Run, MI Jul 05, 2005 - Dixie’s Fourth of July weekend Fireworks show was awesome as usual, but there was nothing usual about the Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint Series 16-year-old sensation Cameron Dodson as the winged warriors made their first visit of the year to the Birch Run speedplant on Friday, July 1st. Young Dodson would soon shock the huge crowd as they witnessed the fastest lap ever run in Dixie Motor Speedway history.

Dodson had a clean sweep of things as he started off the night by blistering the 4/10 mile oval and breaking his own track record by almost 4/10 of a second with a lap of 12.183; an incredible 160 mph top speed down the “Big D” backstretch! He then went from last to first to capture his heat race, leaving only the 30-lap feature to be contested. Things started off with a bang as a first-turn pile-up took out front-runners Feeney, Bill Tyler and Tom Fedewa. A few bumps and bruises but the most serious injury was to racecars and egos.

On the restart Brian Lay jumped out into the lead and started to pull away. All the while, young Dodson was slicing his way through the field like a surgeon. At the halfway point, Dodson caught up with Lay and the battle was on as the two drivers fought their way through lapped traffic. Lay did a masterful job at keeping the young hotshoe at bay but Dodson would not be denied his fifth Super Sprint Series victory as he made the winning move to get by Lay on lap 23. Jason Blonde made a strong run to finish second, followed by Dave Baumgarter, Jeff Bloom and Dorman Snyder. Kevin Feeney and Ryan Katz took heat race wins.

The Series was also in action as Joey Shuryan set fast time with a 17.308. Shuryan then won the dash, with heat race wins going to Vance Wilmoth and Justin Chlaugherty. In the 30-lap feature, Rob Morrison took the early followed by 3-wide racing throughout the pack. Morrison held the top spot until lap 11 when Shuryan made a textbook pass coming out of turn 4. Shuryan made it a clean sweep as he held on for the feature win. Morrison hung on to second followed by Bob Fruit, Mike Niedziewicki and Paul Schaffer.

Kevin Harder lead qualifying for the Sportsman with a 17.600, beating out point leader Curt Genow by just 1/1000 of a second! Heat race victories went to Tony Basalone and Paul Wackerle. Curt Olar put his Ford Taurus in front to lead the lap 20-lap feature. What followed was some of the most exciting racing of the season as the top 7 cars battled for the top spot the rest of the way. Olar kept his nose in front until Mark Super passed him on the outside coming out of turn 2. "Superman" had a serious challenge from Genow as the pair traded paint down the front stretch but the Munger driver stayed in front to pick up his second feature win of the year. Genow nipped Olar at the line to take second place. Wackerle and Basalone rounded out the top 5.

Chad Lamson continued his success in the Factory Sled division, setting a new track record with an 18.083. Heat race winners were Lamson and Mike Lubinski. In the feature, Lubinski led the first 2 laps until Aaron Spearling got by him. On lap 10 Lamson took over the point and lead the rest of the way for his 3rd feature win of the season. Spearling took second followed by Duane Damon, Gerald Persails, Jr. and Rob Kern.

Josh Oliver started out strong in the Figure-8 race jumping into the early lead. But Oliver spun on lap 4, giving the advantage to Duane Damon. Damon led the rest of the way for his second Figure-8 win this year. Mike Lubinski made a charge at the end to take second, followed by Chad Lamson, Bobby Gwynn and Oliver.

This Friday, July 8th, the Pro Late Models and Modified return to action along with Sportsman, Factory Sleds and Figure-8's. Time trials begin at 5:45 with racing at 7:30. For more info contact Dixie at 989-624-9778 or online at

CLICK HERE for class pricing

Contact us for more info